Message Boards

Guidelines

• Please be sure posts are category appropriate.
  • No off-topic or off-color postings.
  • Postings may be deleted at the discretion of HGTV Moderators.
  • No advertising is allowed.
  • Be Nice. No name calling, personal attacks or flaming.
  • Certain words will trigger moderation of the post. These words mostly cover political and religious topics, which are OFF the topics covered by HGTV.
  • For general message board help, click the tab labeled "Tools," and choose "Help" from the dropdown menu.
Full Guidelines

HGTV.com
  HGTV Message Boards
Hop To Forum Categories   Real Estate
Hop To Forums   Get It Sold
  SELLING AN EMPTY HOUSE
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

SELLING AN EMPTY HOUSE Sign In/Join 
posted
Hi,
Does anyone have any ideas for selling a house that no one lives in. Does one have to rent furniture for it?
Thanks, Roe

Posts: 1 | Registered: Sep 12, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of real estate lady
posted Hide Post
As a Realtor, I sell vacant houses all the time..
here are my recommendations:
1) Make sure the home is move in ready. The paint inside and out looks good, not faded, and if needs touch up, do so.
2) Make sure wood is in good shape inside and out including doors, baseboards, and exterior.
3) Replace faucets that are tainted/rusty. Okay if old, but make them look good with a scrub.
4) clean, clean,clean then clean some more.
5) Check to see if hardwood floors is under carpet, if so, use that. Otherwise, if carpet, have them cleaned.
6) Set up bathrooms will towels and rug, picture..decor...
same with kitchen.If breakfast bar, buy or borrow some barstools.
&) Make sure all water flow and pressure is good, have both hot and cold running water, H/A- heating and cooling elements are in goods shape.