Message Boards

Guidelines

• Please be sure posts are category appropriate.
  • No off-topic or off-color postings.
  • Postings may be deleted at the discretion of HGTV Moderators.
  • No advertising is allowed.
  • Be Nice. No name calling, personal attacks or flaming.
  • Certain words will trigger moderation of the post. These words mostly cover political and religious topics, which are OFF the topics covered by HGTV.
  • For general message board help, click the tab labeled "Tools," and choose "Help" from the dropdown menu.
Full Guidelines
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Food Taboos? Sign In/Join 
posted
I'm a student at UCLA and I am conducting research about food taboos in the U.S. I would really appreciate it if you could take a minute to answer this question:

Do food taboos exist in mainstream, core American culture? If so, what are they?

A food taboo is defined as: a very strong moral prohibition against consuming something or consuming under particular circumstances or with people in certain relationships.

Posts: 1 | Registered: Jun 09, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of KeepYouInStitches
posted Hide Post
Sure I'll answer...

We American meat eaters have decided that some animals should not be food. I am specifically referring to horse meat and dog meat. Any animal that we make into a pet becomes off limits in our minds for food consumption.

Many countries (or regions within countries) eat horse meat: Russia, Mexico, China, Italy, etc.

Eating dog meat is even more of a taboo to us. Just a little research brings up not only Asian countries consuming dog meat, but I also saw that dog meat butchered in front of inspectors can be sold in CANADA!!! That surprised me.

Cat meat...yep. Other countries eat domestic cats.

I have no desire to eat any of the above. But I have never starved.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: KeepYouInStitches,