Message Boards

Guidelines

• Please be sure posts are category appropriate.
  • No off-topic or off-color postings.
  • Postings may be deleted at the discretion of HGTV Moderators.
  • No advertising is allowed.
  • Be Nice. No name calling, personal attacks or flaming.
  • Certain words will trigger moderation of the post. These words mostly cover political and religious topics, which are OFF the topics covered by HGTV.
  • For general message board help, click the tab labeled "Tools," and choose "Help" from the dropdown menu.
Full Guidelines
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New to Quilting Sign In/Join 
posted
Hi: I am new to quilting so to speak. My mother was a hand quilter and I had helped her on occasions. She has passed and I was given her quilt tops she was working on for the family to finish. I want to finish them but I am horrible at hand quilting and machine quilting is my style. I feel guilty machine quilting these quilt that I know she would have hand quilted.

Posts: 32 | Registered: Jan 27, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Fleur55
posted Hide Post
Hi Glasshack,

What a treasure to have your mom's quilt tops! While hand quilting is beautiful and that is what your mom did, I'm sure she would just want you to finish them in your own way and put them to use. Whatever you decide to do she will be smiling Smile.

Posts: 630 | Location: Inland Empire, CA | Registered: May 04, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Will Quilt for Chocolate
posted Hide Post
Welcome! I agree with Fleur...I think a finished quilt is so much better than a folded up top! My machine has a stitch that mimics hand quilting. Maybe something like that would be a nice compromise for you!

Again, welcome to the board!

Posts: 4784 | Registered: May 31, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Florida Farm Girl
posted Hide Post