Message Boards

Guidelines

• Please be sure posts are category appropriate.
  • No off-topic or off-color postings.
  • Postings may be deleted at the discretion of HGTV Moderators.
  • No advertising is allowed.
  • Be Nice. No name calling, personal attacks or flaming.
  • Certain words will trigger moderation of the post. These words mostly cover political and religious topics, which are OFF the topics covered by HGTV.
  • For general message board help, click the tab labeled "Tools," and choose "Help" from the dropdown menu.
Full Guidelines

HGTV.com
  HGTV Message Boards
Hop To Forum Categories   Remodeling
Hop To Forums   General Remodeling
  New Kitchen Remodel
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

New Kitchen Remodel Sign In/Join 
posted
Hey everyone! I just bought my first house, but it need a new kitchen. We are thinking of tearing down a wall to make it bigger. Problem is, I have no experience doing any type of remodeling. What should I do first?

The wall has hooks for washer and dryer (gas hook up), also the thermostat, a light switch and an outlet.

Where do I begin and is this a job for a pro? I am really good at figuring things out and following instructions.

Thanks!!

Posts: 2 | Registered: Feb 20, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It is great that you want to learn remodeling BUT start with something smaller.

I am sure you do not know how to determine if it is a bearing wall. Besides the standard rough carpentry and drywall you would be dealing with gas and electric, potential deadly things.

I would leave this to the pros. But watch them from a distance and you may learn a few things.

Posts: 7291 | Location: North MN & Northern AR | Registered: Oct 01, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of mriley
posted Hide Post
jujudragon, Welcome to the Boards. I agree wholeheartedly with Metwo's advise. Good luck and please keep us updated on your progress. Marylee