Message Boards

Guidelines

• Please be sure posts are category appropriate.
  • No off-topic or off-color postings.
  • Postings may be deleted at the discretion of HGTV Moderators.
  • No advertising is allowed.
  • Be Nice. No name calling, personal attacks or flaming.
  • Certain words will trigger moderation of the post. These words mostly cover political and religious topics, which are OFF the topics covered by HGTV.
  • For general message board help, click the tab labeled "Tools," and choose "Help" from the dropdown menu.
Full Guidelines

HGTV.com
  HGTV Message Boards
Hop To Forum Categories   Crafts
Hop To Forums   General Crafts
  What is your favorite - Brush and Paint question
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What is your favorite - Brush and Paint question Sign In/Join 
posted
I am new to painting and would like to increase my supply of both brushes and craft paints. Where do I start? If you could only buy a couple of brushes, which would you choose?
I have a couple different types of craft paints, acrylics, and have noticed that some seem "thinner" than others. What is your experince? Thank you all in advance for your help.

Posts: 90 | Registered: Nov 13, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of rainee
posted Hide Post
Your asking some loaded questions because every painter (me being one of them) has their favorite brand(s) of brush(es) and paint(s) and I use several of each, all for different purposes. :-)

I will tell you this....even if you start with a few brushes buy the BEST you can afford. The quality of a brush WILL make a difference in your finished product and will save you frustration when you paint. When cared for properly a good brush will last you for years. Cheap brushes do not perform well and will not survive the abuse of a lot of painting.