Message Boards

Guidelines

• Please be sure posts are category appropriate.
  • No off-topic or off-color postings.
  • Postings may be deleted at the discretion of HGTV Moderators.
  • No advertising is allowed.
  • Be Nice. No name calling, personal attacks or flaming.
  • Certain words will trigger moderation of the post. These words mostly cover political and religious topics, which are OFF the topics covered by HGTV.
  • For general message board help, click the tab labeled "Tools," and choose "Help" from the dropdown menu.
Full Guidelines

HGTV.com
  HGTV Message Boards
Hop To Forum Categories   Remodeling
Hop To Forums   Outdoor Projects
  Siding types - which way to go???
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Siding types - which way to go??? Sign In/Join 
posted
Hello -

I'm new to this. My boyfriend (both early 50's) are closing this week on our first attempt at flipping a house. We have a lot to learn, so I'm hoping I can get some great advice here!

Among MANY other things, we need to replace the siding on the house. It is a typical 1960's colonial with an attached garage, so archetecturally nothing special. We're replacing really bad 12" fiber board which is failing.

We're trying to keep on a budget and yet make it look as upscale as possible, so looking to spend more when it makes sense.

I know vinyl is much cheaper than the alternatives, but I don't want it to look cheap. I see something call Dutch lap. Would this be a good compromise? I'd like to give the house a contemporary flair.

Any advice greatly appreciated!!!

Posts: 3 | Location: Wauwatosa, WI  | Registered: May 04, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Sparky
posted Hide Post